Working in Youth Center

February 2021

French posts Preparation of the French food

Team meeting Playing billard with the youngsters but also table tennis

Development and creation of a blog page

Meeting and exchange with my coordinator

Girls Club : hiking around Viljandi lake (13,5km)

This activity replaced the French cooking course which could not be done because of the covid situation. Outdoors activities are allowed.

What did I learn this month?

Estonian culture

This month I learnt a lot about Estonian culture thanks to the experiences I had on the weekends. Moreover, one of my colleague lend me an Estonian cooking book.

Vastlapäev on the 16th of February

In Estonia, the feast of Vastlapäev is none other than “Mardi Gras” in France. On this occasion, we prepare some delicacies: the “Vastlakuklid”. Vastlapäev’s Day is associated with the hopes that can be nurtured for the current year. It is common for families to go tobogganing and eat pea soup with pieces of ham. Estonians sometimes make a kind of toy from the bone of the ham. They make a hole in the middle of the bone and tie it to a chain and then sin it around to create hiss.

Development and creation of a blog

WordPress. How To Change Logo Wrapper Size - YouTube

My teamworkers gave me the opportunity to create a blog  where we will promote the work of young volunteers. This blog will be picked up and fed by the next volunteer. Currently I am working in this big but interesting project. I look for tutorials but I also try by myself.

What do I plan to do for the next month?

It is a little bit difficult to plan what I will do this month because due to the covid situation the activities change fast. Moreover, the youth center will stay closed until the end of the month. Although the situation is worst, the team stay motivated and continue to work with the smile. So we trying to provide outdoors activities to the youngsters because this is allowed.

The Garbage Collectors - Assignment Point

Collection of the garbage

Educate the youngsters in the preservation of environment. This activity will consist to collect the garbage in the city of Viljandi. After, we could imagine to do an informative post with the garbage we gatered.

WordPress. How To Change Logo Wrapper Size - YouTube

Continue to develop the blog page

Promouve and share the experience of the volunteer in the Youth center but also the Estonian life.

Some lecture about Youth work and Youthpass

Develop knowledges. I think it will be usefull to read them to develop some ideas. Futhermore, this will help me for the redaction of my competences for my Youthpass I will develop during the stay here in Estonia. With this reading, I will know more about the work of youth.


Leave a comment