The weekends of June

Participation of the last day’s training of the project “plastic is not fantastic”/ Hiking trail around the lake Pühajärv and swimming

Pühajärv is the largest lake in Otepää. The lake is 3,5 km long and deepest point is 8,5 m, the beach line is 16,4 km long and the area is 292,6 ha. Nature around Otepää on a whole is under protection of Otepää Nature Park.

There is a 13 km hiking trail around the lake Pühajärve. For more informmation about this trail : https://www.loodusegakoos.ee/kuhuminna/kaitsealad/otepaa-looduspark/1254

There are lot of springs on the lakeside and the most famous of them is Armuallikas (Love Spring) in Poslovitsa bight. There are 5 island in the lake Pühajärve: Sõsarsaared (Sister islands) in northern part, Kloostrisaar (Monastery island) in the middle and Suur Lepassaar (Big Alder island) and väike Lepassaar (Small Alder island) in the south.

There are numerous folktales and legends connected with the lake. The lake has come into being from the tears of the mourning mother, who was grieving for her five sons. They all died in a war and their burial mounds have formed present islands in the lake. Other tale sais, that in ancient times there have been lot of oak groves in the area. One of them was holy grove. There was no lake then yet. Once it came as a big loud cloud and stopped in the sky just above holy grove. People looked at it and said: “It is humming in the sky as our holy grove on the ground.” Immediately after that lake poured down the sky beside the holy grove. Lake was named Pühajärve (Holy Lake).

Welcomed and visit of my parents all the weekend in Viljandi / Hiking trip in Alatskivi and swimming in the lake

After such a long time (almost 8 months), I spent all my weekend with my parents 😁 I could show them where I live and work, we walked around Viljandi lake, Paalalinna lake and in Peetrimõisa district. I booked the hostel for them where I also spent the night with them. It was really cool to not check the phone during 2/3 days and just to enjoy all the moments with them.

Alatskivi is a small borough in Peipsiääre Parish Tartu County. The village has around 390 population with 128 square kilometers land.

There you can admire the main sight : the gothic style castle of a local manor.

The snow-white Neo-Gothic castle in the heart of Alatskivi was designed and constructed (1880-1885) by Arved Georg von Nolcken, the landlord of Alaskivi estate, as a home for his family. The stylish entrance and marvellous turrets show the clear similarity to a part of the Balmoral Castle in Scotland. Since 1919 the building has been used for different purposes by various institutions. In 2011 the completely restored castle was opened to the public. Today the visitors of the castle can admire the fascinating interior and learn about the history of the building and living in it.

At the castle starts also a hiking trail which has a distance of 4,5km and go around the lake Lossijärv. There you can see varied terrain and have beautiful views.

Here are more information about this trail : https://www.visitestonia.com/en/alatskivi-hiking-trail

Walk along Anne Canal in Tartu / Participation of the extreme sport’s event in our youth center

Anne Canal is a artificial lake situated a little bit outside the town of Tartu. The area of the lake is 9.4 ha. In one side of this canal there is also a beach, on the left bank of the River Emajõgi. That part has swings, ladders and a slide; there is also a fenced swimming area for children.

To go to my covid vaccine appointment in Tartu, I walked from the downtown core, along the Anne Canal and almost walked around the lake. It allowed me to discover this part of the city that I did not know at all. It certainly took me an hour’s walk but I had time since I had arrived well in advance in the city.

On the way back, I was so tired with the vaccine that I decided to take a taxi (Bolt) which brought me back to the bus station.

Then, I meet briefly a French volunteer from Pau and therefore more or less from the same region as me. 🙂 He studied tourism, like me once again.

Later in the afternoon, I took the bus for Viljandi and joined some of my colleagues at the centre and I attended an extreme sports competition as a spectator.


Leave a comment